You are here

People

Meet the researchers in the Biomedical Imaging and Artificial Intelligence Cluster.

A

Abolmaesumi, Purang
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Canada Research Chair, Tier 2, Professor
purang@ece.ubc.ca
Biomedical Engineering, Computer / Image Guided Diagnostics, Computer-Assisted Surgery, Digital Pathology, Machine Learning, Medical Image Analysis, Ultrasound Imaging

B

Bashashati, Ali
OVCARE, School of Biomedical Engineering, UBC
Assistant Professor, Director of AI and Bioinformatics Research
ali.bashashati@ubc.ca
Artificial Intelligence, Bioinformatics, Breast Cancer, Cancer Genomics, Computational Biology, Digital Pathology, Image Processing, Machine Learning, Ovarian Cancer, Signal Processing

Bénard, François
Radiology
Professor
fbenard@bccrc.ca
Cancer Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, PET/SPECT, Radiopharmaceuticals

Black, Peter
Urologic Sciences
Professor, Senior Research Scientist
peter.black@ubc.ca
Bladder Cancer, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Prostate Cancer, Tissue Classification, Ultrasound Imaging

C

Chang, Silvia
Radiology
Associate Professor
silvia.chang@vch.ca
Abdominal Imaging, Alzheimer's, Liver Cancer, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Prostate Cancer, Radiology, Ultrasound Imaging, Urology

Chou, Keng
Chemistry
Associate Professor
kcchou@chem.ubc.ca
Cancer Diagnosis, Super-Resolution Optical Microscopy, Virus-Host Interactions

Coombs, Dan
Mathematics
Professor
coombs@math.ubc.ca
Biophysics, Immune Cell Signaling, Theoretical Immunology, Virus Dynamics

Coope, Robin

Instrumentation Group Leader
rcoope@bcgsc.ca
Clinical and Research Lab Instrumentation, High Throughput Genomics, Medical Devices

Currie, Leanne M.
School of Nursing
Associate Professor
Leanne.Currie@ubc.ca
Health Informatics, Nursing, User-centred design, Wound Diagnosis & Management

F

Forster, Bruce
Radiology
Professor
bruce.forster@vch.ca
Diagnostic Imaging, Hip Injuries, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Sports Medicine

G

Garbi , Rafeef
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor
rafeef@ece.ubc.ca
Artificial Intelligence, Biomedical Applications, Computer Vision, Image Analysis, Machine Learning, Medical Image Computing

Gelbart, Mike
Master of Data Science, Computer Science
Instructor
mgelbart@cs.ubc.ca
Machine Learning

Gilks, Blake
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Head of Department, Professor
blake.gilks@vch.ca
Breast and Gynecological Pathology, Cell Biology, Digital Pathology, Molecular Pathology, Ovarian Cancer

Gin, Kenneth
Medicine
Professor
kenneth.gin@vch.ca
Cardiac Imaging, Cardiology, Echocardiography, Image Registration, Machine Learning, Ultrasound Imaging

Gleave, Martin
Urologic Sciences
Professor
m.gleave@ubc.ca
Androgen Receptor, Cancer Biology, Molecular Inhibitors, Prostate Cancer, Treatment Resistance, Urology

Goldenberg, Larry
Urologic Sciences
Professor

Digital Pathology, Machine Learning, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Multi-parametric Ultrasound, PET-Based Diagnostics/Theranostics, Prostate Cancer, Tissue Classification

H

Haas, Kurt
Cellular & Physiological Sciences
Professor
kurt.haas@ubc.ca
Autism, Calcium Imaging, Epilepsy, Neuroscience

Hafeli, Urs

Professor
urs.hafeli@ubc.ca
Drug Delivery, Magnetic Microspheres, Nanomedicine, Nuclear Medicine, Quantitative Preclinical Imaging, Radiopharmaceuticals

Hamarneh, Ghassan
Computer Science
Professor
hamarneh@sfu.ca
Artificial Intelligence, Cancer, Computer Vision, Deep learning, Medical Image Analysis, Radiomics

Huntsman , David
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director of OvCaRe, Professor
dhuntsma@bccancer.bc.ca
Cancer Genomics, Digital Pathology, Genomic Pathology, Molecular Diagnostics, Ovarian Cancer, Rare Tumours

K

Kozlowski, Piotr
Urologic Sciences, Radiology
Associate Professor
Piotr.Kozlowski@ubc.ca
Brachytherapy, Cancer Imaging, Luminal Water Imaging, MRI/MRS, Multi-Parametric MRI, Myelin Imaging, Prostate Cancer, Spinal Cord Injury

L

Lam, Stephen
Medicine
Professor
slam@bccancer.bc.ca
Cancer Screening, Computerized Tomography, Diagnostic Imaging, Lung Cancer

Pierre Lane

Lane, Pierre
Imaging Unit, Integrative Oncology Department
Senior Research Scientist
plane@bccrc.ca
Autofluorescence Imaging, Cancer Screening, Confocal Microscopy, Optical Coherence Tomography

Lin, Kuo-Shyan
Radiology
Associate Professor
klin@bccrc.ca
Cancer Imaging, Endoradiotherapy, Molecular Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Nuclear Medicine, Peptide Receptors, Positron Emission Tomography, Radiopharmaceuticals

M

Ma, Hongshen
Mechanical Engineering, School of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor
hongma@mech.ubc.ca
Cell Biomechanics, Cell sorting, Circulating Tumor Cells, Image Cytometry, Machine Learning, Malaria Research, Microfluidics, Single Cell Sequencing, Transfusion medicine

MacAulay, Calum
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Clinical Associate Professor
calummac@mail.ubc.ca
Confocal Imaging, Digital Pathology, In vivo tissue imaging, Lung Cancer, Molecular Pathology, Prostate Cancer

MacKay, Alex
Physics and Astronomy
Professor
mackay@physics.ubc.ca
Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Myelin Water Imaging, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

MacVicar, Brian
Psychiatry
Professor
brian.macvicar@ubc.ca
Astrocyte, Brain Swelling, Cerebral Blood Flow, Cytotoxic Neuronal Edema, Intracellular Calcium, Intracellular Chloride, Neurovascular Coupling, Two Photon Microscopy, Whole Cell Voltage Clamp

McGrail, Kim
Centre for Health Services and Policy Research, School of Population and Public Health
Professor
kim.mcgrail@ubc.ca
Data Governance, Healthcare Equity, Visual Analytics

McKeown, Martin
Neurology
Professor
martin.mckeown@ubc.ca
Basal Ganglia, Cerebellum, Electrodermal Activity, Electroencephalography, Electromyography, fMRI, Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Kinematics and Posturography, Parkinson's

Morris, Jim
Surgery
Clinical Professor

Brachytherapy, Focal Therapy, Multi-Parametric MRI, Multi-parametric Ultrasound, Prostate Cancer

Mostafavi, Sara
Statistics, Medical Genetics
Assistant Professor, Canada Research Chair, Tier 2
saram@cmmt.ubc.ca
Computational Biology, Computational Medicine, Data Integration, Genetics of Complex Traits, Genomics, Machine Learning, Machine Learning in Computational Biology, Psychiatric Genetics, Regulatory Networks

Murphy, Tim
Cellular & Physiological Sciences, Psychiatry
Professor
thmurphy@mail.ubc.ca
Cerebral Blood Flow, Electrophysiology, Huntington Disease, Neurodegeneration, Neurovascular Coupling, Optogenetics, Primary Neuronal Culture, Synaptic Plasticity, Two Photon Imaging

N

Nabi, Robert
Cellular & Physiological Sciences
Professor
ivan.robert.nabi@ubc.ca
Breast Cancer, Fluorescent Microscopy, Metastasis, Mitochondrial Dynamics, Single Molecule Localization Microscope, Super-Resolution Microscopy, Tumor Progression

Nguan, Chris
Urologic Sciences
Associate Professor
christopher.nguan@ubc.ca
Allograft Fibrosis, Donor Organ Preservation, Elastography, Kidney Transplantation, Organ Perfusion, Organ Preservation Solution, Organ transplantation, Pharmacokinetics, Ultrasound Imaging

Nicolaou, Savvas
Radiology
Professor
savvas.nicolaou@vch.ca
Artificial Intelligence, Computed Tomography, Emergency Radiology, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, Trauma Radiology

R

Rauscher, Alex
Department of Pediatrics
Associate Professor, Canada Research Chair in Developmental Neuroimaging
rauscher@phas.ubc.ca
Biomedical Imaging, Brain Injury, Concussion, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Multiple Sclerosis, Neuroscience, Quantitative MRI

Reinsberg, Stefan
Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor
stefan@sphas.ubc.ca
Image Method Development, Medical Physics

Rohling, Robert
Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Director, Institute for Computing, Information and Cognitive Systems, Professor
rohling@ece.ubc.ca
Biomedical Imaging, Elastography, Medical Robotics, Ultrasound Imaging

S

Salcudean, Tim
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Canada Research Chair, Tier 1, Professor
tims@ece.ubc.ca
Cancer Classification, Elastography, Image-Guided Interventions, Medical Image Analysis, Medical Robotics, Prostate Cancer, Teleoperation, Ultrasound Imaging

Schaffer, Paul
TRIUMF
Associate Laboratory Director
pschaffer@triumf.ca
Bio-Inorganic Chemistry, Cancer, Imaging Agents, Molecular Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Positron Emission Tomography, Radiometals, Radiopharmaceuticals, Therapeutic Agents

Schmidt, Mark
Computer Science
Assistant Professor, Canada CIFAR AI Chair, Alberta Machine Learning Institute
schmidtm@cs.ubc.ca
Causality, Machine Learning, Numerical Optimizaiton, Probabilistic Graphical Models

Shah, Sohrab
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Associate Professor
sshah@bccrc.ca
Clonal Dynamics, Computational Biology, DNA Repair, Genomic Instability, Genomic Signatures, Homologous Recombination, Next-Generation Sequencing, Ovarian Cancer, Tumour Evolution

Shapiro, Linda
Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor
shapiro@cs.washington.edu
Computer Vision, Medical Image Analysis, pattern recognition

Sossi, Vesna
Physics and Astronomy, Medicine
Adjunct Professor, Professor
vesna@physics.ubc.ca
Algorithms, Clinical and Preclinical Imaging, Instrumentation, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Neurodegeneration, Neuroscience, Positron Emission Tomography

Spadinger, Ingrid
Surgery
Clinical Associate Professor
ispading@bccancer.bc.ca
Brachytherapy, Developmental Radiotherapeutics, Medical Physics, Radiation Oncology

T

Talhouk, Aline
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Assistant Professor
atalhouk@bccrc.ca
Bioinformatics, Cancer of the Reproductive System, Computer Science and Statistics, Diagnostic Models, Digital Health, Epidemiology, Machine Learning, Ovarian Cancer, Personalized Medicine, Prevention, Privacy

Tam, Roger
Radiology
Associate Professor
roger.tam@ubc.ca
Computer-Assisted Surgery, In vivo tissue imaging, Machine Learning, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Medical Image Analysis

Tang, Shuo
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor
tang@ece.ubc.ca
Biomedical Optics, Biophotonics, Laser Spectroscopy, Melanoma Detection, Multiphoton Microscopy, Optical Coherence Tomography, Skin Cancer Detection

Tsang, Teresa
Division of Cardiology, Medicine
Associate Head Research, Director of Echocardiography, Professor
t.tsang@ubc.ca
Cardiology, Data Fusion, Echocardiography, Feature Extraction, Image Classification, Image Processing, Image Registration, Image Segmentation, Machine Learning, Quality Assurance, Ultrasound Imaging

W

Walker, Danielle

Program Manager, Biomedical Imaging and AI Research Cluster
daniellew@ece.ubc.ca

Wellington, Cheryl
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Professor
cheryl.wellington@ubc.ca
Alzheimer Disease, apolipoprotein E (apoE) metabolism, Concussion, Dementia, Neurodegeneration, Traumatic Brain Injury

Wyatt, Alexander
Urologic Sciences
Assistant Professor
awyatt@prostatecentre.com
Bioinformatics, Cancer Genomics, Cell-Free DNA, Immunotherapy, Liquid Biopsy, Precision Oncology, Prostate Cancer

Z

Z Wang, Jane
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor
zjanew@ece.ubc.ca
Brain Data Analytics, Image Processing, Machine Learning, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Medical Image Analysis, Signal Processing, Statistical Signal Processing

Zandstra, Peter
School of Biomedical Engineering, Medical Genetics
Professor
peter.zandstra@ubc.ca
Bioengineering, Biological Imaging, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Imaging, Biotechnology, Computational Biology, Computational Modeling, Gene/Cell Therapy Systems, Genomics, Immunology, Personalized Medicine, Regenerative Medicine, Synthetic Biology